NITAAC CIO-SP3 Small Business

Why CIO-SP3 Small Business?

CIO-SP3 is a next-generation federal Health IT contract vehicle sponsored under the National Institutes of Health (NIH). CIO-SP3 is administered by the NIH Information Technology Acquisition and Assessment Center (NITAAC), which is using proven processes and technology, including an unrivaled e-ordering system, on several GWACs. This vehicle offers the following advantages to federal agencies:

  • Quality of Service: A pre-competed pool of small business contract holders
  • Cost Effectiveness and Transparency: Pre-competed rates available online
  • Speed to Order: E-ordering in 10 minutes or less
  • Speed to Kickoff: Awards in 30 days or less

Who Should Use CIO-SP3?

While CIO-SP3 is focused on federal health information technology  programs, it may be used by any federal civilian or Department of Defense agency to fulfill a range of mission-critical IT requirements.

What is the Scope of CIO-SP3?

The scope of CIO-SP3 is broken up into 10 Task Areas. More detailed definitions can be found on the NITAAC web site. CVP’s CIO-SP3 award allows us to provide all 10 Task Areas, representing a cross-section of our expertise in the federal health marketplace:

Task Area 1 – IT Services for Biomedical Research, Health Sciences, and Healthcare

Support Biomedical Research, Health Sciences, and Healthcare by performing studies and analyses and providing operational, technical, and maintenance services for systems, subsystems, and equipment, some of which interface with information systems throughout the federal government and extend their services.

Task Area 2 – Chief Information Officer (CIO) Support

Support Chief Information Officers (CIOs) in implementing laws, regulations, and polices and to facilitate evolving CIO practices.

Task Area 3 – Imaging

Addresses systems and services that support the collection, storage, and retrieval of digital images. Digital images may include scanned documents, medical images, geographical information systems, video, and photos.

Task Area 4 – Outsourcing

Provide the IT infrastructure and services required to assume management and operations of government IT resources and business functions.

Task Area 5 – IT Operations and Maintenance

Support the operation and maintenance of IT systems, keeping them viable with supported vendor releases or off-the-shelf software upgrades. Operations and maintenance on IT systems includes all software and hardware associated with mainframes, client and server systems, web-based applications, and networking.

Task Area 6 – Integration Services

Support the development and deployment of integrated information systems, which includes the integration of technical, IT, and organizational components, as well as documentation. Integration projects can support a range of agency functions. In the healthcare and research domain, systems for medical imaging, patient and clinical information management, and laboratory management are often provided via integration of commercial components with existing infrastructure.

Task Area 7 – Critical Infrastructure Protection and Information Assurance

Support the protection of critical infrastructure, assurance of agency information, and operations that protect and defend information and information systems by ensuring confidentiality, integrity, availability, accountability, restoration, authentication, non-repudiation, protection, detection, monitoring, and incident response capabilities.

Task Area 8 – Digital Government

Support government services provided through digital means, creating a transparent interaction between government and citizens (G2C – government-to-citizens), government and business enterprises (G2B – government-to-business enterprises) and government interagency (G2G – government-to-government) relationships.

Task Area 9 – Enterprise Resource Planning

Support the implementation of enterprise management applications and systems in the federal environment, which are integrated software applications used to control, monitor, and coordinate key business activities across an enterprise. These applications generally fall into the following categories: financials, human resources, logistics, manufacturing, and projects.

Task Area 10 – Software Development

Develop customized software applications, database applications, and other solutions not available in off-the-shelf software applications.

How Does CIO-SP3 Work?

  1. The end user agency prepares and submits a complete Task Order Requirements Package (TORP) to the CIO-SP3 Contracting Officer.
  2. As a minimum, each TORP will include:
    • A performance-based Statement of Work
    • Contractor evaluation criteria
    • Independent Government Cost Estimate
    • Point of Contact information
    • Funding strategy
    • Proposal instructions
    • Proposal due date
    • Desired contract type (either CPAF, CPIF, CPFF, FFP, or T&M)
  3. NITAAC reviews and provides the TORP to each CIO-SP3 contractor.
  4. Contractor prepares Technical and Cost proposals and submits via eGOS, the electronic bid submission system.
  5. End user agency evaluates the proposals (oral and/or written) and selects the prime contractor that provides the best value.
  6. End user agency prepares and submits a complete Selection Recommendation Document Package (SRDP) to the CIO-SP3 Contracting Officer.
  7. NITAAC reviews the SRDP and provides the customer with a NITAAC Approval Letter.
  8. Task Order is issued to the selected prime contractor.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This